Connectivity

korrabanyontree

Huu: “I reached enlightenment right here under the banyan grove tree. I hear it callin’ me, just like you did. See this whole swamp is actually just one tree spread out over miles… branches, spread and sink and take root and then spread some more – one big living organism, just like the entire world. Do  you think you’re any different from me? Or your friends? Or this tree? If you listen hard enough you can hear every living thing breathing together, you can feel everything growing. We’re all livin’ together, even if most folks don’t act like it. We all have the same roots, and we are all branches of the same tree.”

This is actually how I feel about everything and everyone around me. We are all connected, in ways we are yet to understand, and what affects one, affects all. Human beings are social creatures by nature and even if we don’t always feel like it, we do need each other. I have found so much support and encouragement from the people I’ve met online in this Sober Blogging Network, that it boggles my mind to think that we haven’t actually  met in person. Yet, that fact does not lessen the value of the connections we’ve made in this space.

It is interesting to think that it sometimes seems easier to reach out and ask for help, or to comfort a fellow blogger, than it is to just say hello to a stranger in “real” life. I make an effort now, to form connections with people I see regularly, at the coffee shop, at the grocery store or at the pharmacy. I smile and make small talk. In time I see people open up and respond to my attempts to connect. It does not always work, which is fine too, as I know there have been times when I have been an uncalled-for-mega-bitch to strangers. I try to be different now.

I think humans have also lost their connection to nature, to the Earth, and to the cosmos. We are more a part of the whole than we understand. Maybe that’s why so many people are lost. But I do have hope for our future. Many people are seeking truth, and yearning for ‘something’ they know they need even though they don’t know how to find it, or what ‘it’ is. They’re looking for ways to genuinely connect, which is enough for now.

~*~

This is Post C, in the A to Z Blogging Challenge 2015. My 26 posts are inspired by the quotes from Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra, two Emmy award-winning animated television series created and produced by Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko. The setting for both series is in an Asian-influenced world of martial arts and elemental manipulation. The shows drew on elements from East Asian, South Asian, and Western culture, and (aside from the beautifully developed characters and kick-ass story lines) are where I found a wealth of inspiration and perspective on my own life.

The rest of my A to Z 2015 posts can be found here. 

4 comments

  1. “We are all connected, in ways we are yet to understand, and what affects one, affects all.”
    Your words made me think of the Red String of Fate which is a belief originating from Chinese legend.
    It goes something like this: certain people are connected by the red string/thread regardless of place, time, or circumstances. This magical cord may stretch or tangle, but never break. This myth is similar to the Western concept of soulmate or a destined flame…
    Great post!

    Writer In Transit

Leave a Reply

